bcm43** in F15 x86_64

when compile hybrid-portsrc_x86_64-v5_100_82_38.tar.gz from Broadcom, there is an error ” implicit declaration of function ‘init_MUTEX’ [-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]”. So if you want to compile wl.ko in F15, you need change “src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c” line 487 from
init_MUTEX(&wl->sem);
into
sema_init(&wl->sem, 1);

This is my first fedora article. Sorry for my poor English.

About nihlath

george nihlathak
This entry was posted in fedora. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to bcm43** in F15 x86_64

  1. Pingback: BCM 4313 Fedora 15 x86_64 compile error | Dotmil.org

  2. Kevin Kofler says:

    There’s actually a Free as in speech driver for the new Broadcom 43xx wireless chipsets in “staging”, called “bcm”. (Older ones are supported by the stable b43 driver inside the kernel, which just needs the firmware extracted from one of the known binaries of wl.)

  3. yaco says:

    Hi Nihlath, nice first article in english. I’ve been looking for a “solved” kind of text for the wifi issue with Broadcom+F15, and this is the first one I see, thanks.

    Also, I’m kind of new in Fedora, I need to ask what could be the usual packages to be installed to have well suited environment to compile successfully the STA driver.
    I speculate something like “yum install gcc kernel-source”.

    Thanks in advance for any answer you can provide.

  4. laf163 says:

    I have the same problem, very thank you.

  5. Pablo Valentim says:

    Thank you, man! It’s working here.

Leave a comment